From Flowers To Mountains

This was all about perspective; getting the right angle, focus, placement and lighting. This old, rusting propane tank in the middle of a field near Henrys Lake, Idaho, proved to be a unique and worthwhile subject for this photoshoot.

Each photo, while having its own style, depth, message or focus, has the old tank in it. Being able to use the same area and object(s) to produce a wide variety of styles of photos is a skill that took time and patience to gain, and I would say that I am nowhere near professional.

Way To Ruin The View

I began with the landscape shots, making sure my subject, the ugly propane tank that sticks out like a sore thumb, was clear and apparent while still emphasizing and detailing the scenery and colors around it.

Rust Or Clouds?

This landscape photo had a close-up texture photo from the propane tank overlayed on it, to give it the damaged, old-school appearance.

Close-up texture photo of rusting metal used as a visual effect in the above photo.

Clouds & Other Gases

With this photo I used a fairly low f-stop with a fast shutter speed in order for my hand to come into focus with everything else being semi-blurred but remaining visually distinct.

Deterioration Turned Beauty

This is some old aluminum-coated styrofoam on the end of the propane tank. The years of weathering and erosion caused a bright display of orange and rusty-brown that was attracting my eye the entire time I was taking photos. It wasn’t until the end of the shoot that I decided I’d give this photo a try, since I couldn’t see any natural angle that would present well. Turns out, it was a unnatural angle I needed, looking straight down.

Solid Fire

Another close-up shot of the tank breaking down. The rust here, though solid, looks like it drips down the side of the tank, almost leaving an appearance of singed wood or smoldering coals.

Just Look at the Flowers

Taking a step back, and stumped on the next angle to shoot from, I saw this small, yellow, 2-centimeter flower poking up from the dead and dry grass. Laying prone on the ground and fiddling with settings in the harsh and disrespectful lighting, I finally got a good enough photo this life rising from nothingness, of course with my beloved ugly tank providing shade from the background.

Of All the Colors

This was one of the first photos I took, and in camera it didn’t look good. Once I uploaded it to my laptop and began with basic edits, I realized that it contained a wide spectrum of color. From the blue hued mountain, over the green growing grass to the orange exposed insulation.

Life & Death

This photo had the same, but this time intended, outcome, hence the title. The dying and decay of the outer layer of the propane tank provide a handful of oranges, browns, reds and yellows. The life and nourishment of the background scenery offers greens, yellows and blues. These sets of colors, each coming from different scenes, contrast just as plainly as life and death.

Power in the Palm of Your Hand

I decided that this valve handle was part of the propane tank, and gave it my go at capturing a close-up, detailed shot of it. With the same frustrating lighting as the flower photo, I used my phone flashlight to give it the slight sheen it has.

 

These 9 different perspectives, and any other perspective imaginable, can be applied to most, if not all, subjects. Using the right angle, lighting, focus and depth is what makes your photos stand out.

 

 

2 thoughts on “From Flowers To Mountains

Leave a comment