Best of the Best

Here are the five best photos I captured this semester, I hope you agree!

I feel like this photo belongs in my top-five because of its composition. With the grass and creek in the foreground, the bridge in the mid-ground an the town and hills in the background, I feel like this photo really captures the scene in its entirety. It is one of the only photos I’ve taken where I feel it accurately and almost completely portrays the view that my eyes saw.

The clarity and focus caught in this is what earns it a spot in my top-five. The highlights, shadows, colors and overall sharpness make this photo a personal favorite. The reflection of the trees and sky in the water drop just add to the magic.

This photo belongs in my top-five because it easily portrays the fact that Bannack Ghost Town is a small little town that is tucked into a ravine in the middle of a vast, open world. With the town still technically being the “focal point” of this photo, I aimed the lens upward and outward, trying to capture the feeling of “small and unnoticed in a big world.”

This photo belongs in my top-five because of the perspective and lighting. I felt like the mood that is captured in Martin’s facial expression along with the high-contrast lighting gave this portrait a strong and clear message.

Last but not least, this belongs in my top-five because it was the fulfilling outcome of long and hard work. I loved the colors that turned out in this photo, as well as the distortion of lines and objects visible in the water drop.

Overall, these photos show help to show the accumulative skills I have been blessed in acquiring this semester. From color to composition, and lighting to perspective, all of these help to showcase the things I have learned with the help of my professor and peers.

Leave a comment